Public Minutes of 137th Steering Board, 29th April 2024

Present: Alex Howard, Alberto Ribon, Makoto Asai (OB liaison), Mihaly Novak, Witek Pokorski, Ben Morgan, Marc Verderi, Krzysztof Genser, Ivana Hrivnacova, Vladimir Ivanchenko, Gabriele Cosmo, Gunter Folger, Dmitri Konstantinov, John Apostolakis, Dennis Wright, Daren Sawkey, Luis Sarmiento (Pico), Carlo Mancini, Francesco Romano, Alexey Sytov

Excused: Soon Yung Jun, Susanna Guatelli

Please note : This is a transitional SB meeting

Part 1 - by the current SB membership

1. Approval of the election of WG leadership

  • Note:
    • first name : working group coordinator, elected
    • second name in parenthesis : deputy coordinator, who takes over in case of coordinator absence, nominated
    • other name(s) : additional representative(s), elected, number of representatives depends of the working group FTE
    • Bold names are new SB members / deputies
  • Advanced Examples
    • Francesco Romano (Miguel Cortes)
  • Documentation Management
    • Alexandre Howard (Luis Sarmiento (Pico))
  • Electromagnetic Physics Processes
    • Vladimir Ivanchenko, Mihaly Novak, Daren Sawkey, Sebastien Incerti, Alexey Sytov
  • Geometry and Transport
    • John Apostolakis (Andrei Gheata)
  • Hadronic Physics Processes
    • Alberto Ribon, Luis Sarmiento (Pico)
  • Generic Processes and Materials
    • Marc Verderi (Igor Semeniouk)
  • Novice and Extended Examples
    • Ivana Hrivnacova (Anh Tuan Lee)
  • Particles and Tracking
    • Shogo Okada (Hisaya Kurashige)
  • Persistency
    • Witold Pokorski (Ivana Hrivnacova)
  • Physics Lists and Validation Tools
    • Krzysztof Genser (Gunter Folger)
  • Run, Event and Detector Responses
    • Makoto Asai (Ben Morgan)
  • Software Management
    • Ben Morgan (Gunter Folger)
  • Testing and Quality Assurance
    • Soon Yung Jun (Dmitri Konstantinov)
  • User and Category Interfaces
    • Koichi Murakami (Hajime Yoshida)
  • Visualization
    • Laurent Garnier (John Allison)
  • Ex-officio
    • Spokesperson : Marc Verderi
    • Deputy spokesperson : Alberto Ribon
    • Release coordinator : Gabriele Cosmo
    • Technical Forum chair : Marilena Bandieramonte
    • Oversight Board liaison : Makoto Asai
  • Election process and WG leadership approved by the transitional SB

Part 2 - by the new SB membership

1. Situation with respect to international difficulties

  • No impact expected for this year, but there might be an impact next year

2. Regular items

  • Patch01 for Geant4 11.2
    • Released on February 16th 2024

3. Work Plan for 2024

  • Work plans are published on the web in the various Working Group pages.
  • Collaboration-wide development items is summarized and posted on the web.
  • The last Technical Forum, on April 11th, was devoted to the presentation and discussion of the work plan.

4. Release schedule

  • Beta release, G4 11.3.beta, expected for June 28th
  • Minor release, G4 11.3, expected for December 6th

5. Spokesperson election

  • Forming the Candidate Nomination Team (CNT)
    • Three volunteers: Marc Verderi, Makoto Asai, John Apostolakis
    • CNT membership was approved
  • Election time table is agreed as follows:
    • Nomination phase : 2 weeks
    • Nominee(s) endorsement by SB : 1 week
    • Election phase : 2 weeks
  • CNT will announce the election procedure to the Collaboration

6. AOB

6.1 Recent Events

  • Geant4 Course at the VIEnna Workshop on Simulations 2024 (VIEWS24), 22/27 April 2024,

  • Geant4 Beginners Course @CERN, 15/19 April 2024

  • The 5th Geant4 International User Conference at the Physics - Medicine - Biology frontier, Osaka University Nakanoshima Center, Osaka (Japan), 27/29 March 2024

  • Geant4-DNA International tutorial, Osaka University, Osaka (Japan), 25/26 March 2024

  • Geant4 tutorial at JLAB, Jefferson Lab, Newport News (Virginia, USA), 25/29 March 2024

  • 5 day training on Geant4 Monte-Carlo simulation, Ghana, 18/22 March 2024

6.2 Near Future Events

Meeting Date Monday, April 29, 2024 - 16:00 (CET)